Mash East List of Economic Minerals

  1.        Corundum

Is the second hardest after diamond

Gem varieties include ruby and sapphire

Emery is a grey to black granular mixture of corundum and magnetite.

Corundum is a high temperature mineral formed by metamorphism of aluminium rich inclusions in igneous rocks. Fine grained boulder corundum may be derived from metamorphism of bauxites


In abrasive industry

In lens for grinding and polishing, metal burnishing and finishing and refractory bricks.

Mineral deposits in Mash East

Mineral deposits in the districts include:


  1. Jasper
  2. Agate
  3. Iron
  4. Gold


  1.  Gold
  2. Lithium
  3. Beryl
  4. Calcite
  5. Bismuth
  6. Citrine
  7. Tungsten
  8. Talc
  9. Tantalum


  1. Citrine
  2. Chrysoberl
  3. Tourmaline


Geology of Mash East

Geological formations that host economic minerals include:

  • Makaha Greenstone Belt
  • Harare Greenstone Belt
  • Beatrice Greenstone Belt
  • Mutoko Pegmatite
  • Pfungwe Metamorphic Suite
  • Good Days Pegmatite

Mashonaland East Districts

 Mashonaland East is divided into nine districts:

  • Chikomba
  • Goromonzi        
  • Marondera
  • Mudzi
  • Murehwa (Mrehwa)
  • Mutoko
  • Seke
  • Uzumba-Maramba-Pfungwe (UMP)
  • Wedza (Hwedza)

Mashonaland East Province

Mashonaland East is a province of Zimbabwe. It has an area of 32,230 km² and a population of approximately 1.35 million (2012).

Marondera is the capital of the province.

Mashonaland East, Province of Zimbabwe