The Ministry of Mines and Mining Development’s structure remained rather static and unchanged from the colonial days, through independence, up to 2014. Up to then, the Ministry comprised head office, with various departments, and five mining districts, namely Harare, Masvingo, Kadoma, Gweru and Bulawayo. Harare Mining District included Mashonaland Central, East and West, and Manicaland, while Bulawayo covered both Matabeleland North and South.

The mining districts were said to have been conceptualized, created and curved out in accordance with the occurrence of minerals in the country. However, with the passage of time, it became increasingly apparent that the Ministry’s structure needed to be more in rail with the general geography of Governmental politico-socio-economic administration of the country.

That needed re-alignment came through the restructuring of the Ministry in 2014, which saw the establishment of eight provincial mining offices for Mashonaland Central, Mashonalnd East, Mashonaland West, Midlands, Matebeleland North, Matebeleland South, Masvingo and Manicaland. The provincial mining offices replaced the former mining district offices, and were purported to ease access to and spread, and hence or otherwise improve, government mining services, among other intentions.

 The same restructuring saw the introduction of the Legal Services, the Information Communication Technology, and the Mining Research and Value Addition departments to the anatomy of the Ministry, in pursuit of the same purposes and intentions. Also added were two Principal Directorates for each of Mining Technical Services; and Mining Promotion, Beneficiation and Value Addition.